Santa Lucia

Monday was the feast day of St. Lucia. Alas, Ezra did not wake me up by singing and bringing me coffee and a saffron cake. But we did celebrate at dinner by making Swedish meatballs.

Cooking was a relay race between me, my mom and my husband , as I periodically dropped out of kitchen contributions to meet the needs of Ezra. For instance, he had to eat partway through the preparation and, of course, as soon as we sat down to eat.

We used the recipe for “Scandinavian meatballs” and rice pilaf with scallions and dill from How to Eat Supper, a beloved cookbook from Lynne Rosetto Kasper of public radio’s “The Splendid Table.”   Lynne is such a prominent force in my culinary life that we are on a first name basis in my kitchen. These meatballs involved ground turkey, beef, prunes, spices and wine, with a sauce made of wine and deliciousness. They were quite possibly the best meatballs I have ever eaten. Thank you, Lynne ( and Mom and Pdubs).

 

5 Comments

Filed under food

5 responses to “Santa Lucia

  1. MegGret

    This is the cookbook I need to add to my Christmas Cookbook Wishlist. What is it exactly called? And, I love that Ez is already firmly attached to his parents to know exactly when it’s time to eat… precisely when mommy and daddy are eating 🙂 Babies are so smart!

  2. Spotter

    I would just like to add that I am an avid reader of all of my friends’ baby blogs. I love them. So feel free to post for no reason, even if your parents are in town. I’ll read it! (If you’re wondering if perhaps I spend too much time sitting in front of a computer still working on the same book I’ve been writing since 2003, the answer is yes.)
    You also win bonus points b/c you sometimes write about food. And the only thing I love as much as friends’ baby blogs is food blogs. Show me a cute picture of your baby and tell me about something good to eat, and I’m sold. It’s just like smittenkitchen, but I know you!

  3. Uncle Dave

    Just when you think all is quiet and you can enjoy your evening meal ….. If I had a dime for every time I cut Aunt Sue’s meat for her so she could feed a meal and enjoy? a warm meal I’d be a rich man.

  4. Sounds like a great way to celebrate! Come on Baby E – give Mommy a break!

  5. pop pop

    A most tasty supper. Job well done.

Leave a Reply

