And this is why we want a ball

As some of you know, I have been looking for a ball for Ezra. I’d like it to be bigger than a choking hazard, smaller than a regulation soccer ball. Not too hard, not too soft. Rollable. Throwable. Catchable. Rather — how shall we say? — ball-like. This may sound simple, but in the dozens of aisles of toys at our local Target, there was no straight-up kid-sized ball. I did find one ball: it had flashing lights and music and buttons and lessons in colors and numbers. But I want my ball to focus on Just Being a Ball. I will keep looking. I am hopeful.

I know you’re out there, ball!

This past weekend we had a great time attending a wedding and visiting friends in Pittsburgh. We got to celebrate the beginning of a wonderful new marriage and see old friends from near and far. It was wonderful. Ezra endured the car trip, was mostly polite during the wedding, slept through the reception and enjoyed meeting his new buddy, Finn, and seeing his godfather and other adult friends.

kickin' it after the wedding

And, extra special bonus: he got to play with a ball. (You’ll see just how extra special this was in a moment.) Finn was nice enough to let Ezra play with a ball at his house. We played catch.

And Ezra … well, I guess you could say he had a ball.

6 Comments

Filed under baby

6 responses to “And this is why we want a ball

  1. Oh Allison that is just hysterical! Alana never did that! I just could happily drown in baby laughter! This video is absolutely perfect! LOVE IT!!

  2. Meg

    Oh that laugh is so inspiring!!! We might have a ball that fits your needs. I will send it as a stand-in until you find the perfect ball! We found our perfect ball at CVS for what it’s worth. Giules and Joseph love it!

  3. I’m Finn’s aunt (and co-giver of the magic ball)–thanks for posting this video! We all should have something in our lives that make us laugh as much as that ball 🙂

  4. Anonymous

    FINALLY!!! I was in need of some serious “Ezra smiles”!! He is just too cute for words!!!

  5. Patti

    Finally! I was in need of some serious “Ezra smiles”…..he is just too cute for words!

  6. That is the most infectious sound ever! What a sweetie! I hope the ball quest goes well.

Leave a Reply

